Some Bar on Some Street, Chiang Mai, Thailand

map_chiangmai

I do not own this image. found at http://annatravelslux.com/2015/02/

I arrived in Thailand the day of the recent coup and decided I wanted no part of revolutions so I quickly took an overnight train to Chiang Mai. My first order of business was to find an ice-cold beer, so I walked down a street, came across several bars, chose one, sat at the bar and ordered. As I’m enjoying the delicacy that is Beer Laos, a tall attractive Thai walks in, sits next to me and starts chatting me up. After talking for a few minutes and not thinking anything of it, she offers me her services in the backroom and I realize she’s a professional. Now, I’m well aware of what happens in Thailand but “suckey, fuckey, boom boom” with a dude disguised as a hot woman was not the purpose of my visit, so I politely decline. Since she didn’t pressure me the conversation continues with her asking me if I know what kind of woman she is. I instantly spin around and ask “Katoy?”

She laughs and nods yes.

The infamous ladyboy.

She starts rubbing my leg which made me nervous. She asks if I think she’s beautiful and I respond, “Yes, the doctor did a good job.”

She laughs and laughs as I try to down my beer while examining her better. I notice the Adams Apple, large hands and the fact that she is unusually tall for a Thai- something I had overlooked when she first sat down. She tells me about how she supports her family and how long she’s been a pro.  She comments about how fast I drank at which point I excuse myself and hightail it out of there.

Don’t make the same mistakes as some of these first-timer Thailanders,and make sure to take a good long look before agreeing to go anywhere or bring anyone back…unless of course that is what you are looking for.

Not sure what to look for? Check out this handy-dandy article:

http://www.bangkok.com/magazine/ladyboys.htm

♥ The Traveling Plankton wants your story! Submit at travelplank44@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

